T-shirts of activisimMonday was a very quiet day, beginning with Pilates as usual. There was an interesting display on campus. In its seventh year, “The Campus Clothesline Project” was be on display from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily April 21-25 in the courtyard between the Arkansas Union and Mullins Library. The project began in 2001 with 80 T-shirts donated and decorated by university students, staff and faculty displaying messages of hope and support, risk reduction strategies, awareness facts, and messages from survivors. “The Campus Clothesline Project” has now grown into an emotional exhibit that featured more than 1,500 T-shirts hanging as a unified voice against sexual assault and relationship violence. Ironically, we also had a traveling exhibit promoting safe sex the first day of the exhibit.

Tuesday was a little bit quiet around the law school. The highlight of that day was an end of the year reception for the Journal of Food Law & Policy which was held at University House. It was lovely. JenniferJennifer FIser Fiser, the outgoing Editor-in-Chief, presented certificates to members. Prof. Schneider announced the recipient of the Arent Fox award. This award is generously sponsored by the Arent Fox law firm in Washington, DC. Senator Dale Bumpers serves as counsel to the firm and is responsible for the creation of the Arent Fox award. This year’s winner of the award was Christina Fox, for her article entitled Teach a Man: Proactively Battling Food Insecurity by Increasing Access to Local Foods. She began her article with the ancient Chinese Proverb, “Give a man a fish you have fed him for a day; teach a man to fish and you have fed him for a lifetime.” Applying this to an analysis of the problem of food insecurity, she argued that government needs to not only provide resources to meet the immediate needs of Christina recieves awardhunger and poverty, it must also expand access to fresh local foods in areas of poverty and educate consumers about the importance of nutritional choices. The 2008-09 Editorial Board was also announced at the reception: Emily Reynolds, Editor-in-Chief; Heather Sutton, Executive Editor; Christina Fox, Articles Editor; and Conner McNair and John Pesek, Note & Comment Editors. Thanks to the folks who attended including Rhonda Adams, Rob Leflar (who gave the closing remarks), Susan Schneider, Bob Moberly, Lonnie Beard, Howard Brill, and Janet Flaccus